Are your chakras balanced?

Over the next few months in class we will be continuing our theme of “balancing the chakras” and you will hear me talking about these different energy centres in the body.

So, what are chakras?

Western science and medical traditions teach us that our body’s functions are controlled by both the nervous system and the endocrine (hormone) systems. In Eastern medicine traditions (such as Chinese medicine) and in Yoga, energy centres called chakras govern your existence.

The word chakra  is Sanskrit for “wheel” and each chakra is a wheel or ‘vortex’ of concentrated energy, combining cosmic energy from above and earth energy from below. In Chinese medicine, this energy is called chi and in Yoga the energy is called prana  and means life force.

There are hundreds of minor chakras and seven main chakras. Each organ and major physical structure has its own chakra, as does each major part of the subtle body.

The chart below shows some of the qualities often associated with each of the seven major chakras.


Spirals of energy

Energy from our past and our experiences is stored in the chakras and influences our everyday actions and thoughts.

When our chakras are in balance, energy can flow freely through them all, and the energy takes on the quality of love. As the energy rises through the chakras, from base to crown, this is known as the spiral of empowerment.

When the chakras are out of balance, the energy takes on the quality of fear and this gives rise to the spiral of disempowerment.

Chakras and Dru Yoga

The ancient healing arts of Chinese medicine and Indian Ayurvedic medicine have led to modern interest in the chakras when linked to healing techniques. Where there is illness or imbalance in the body or mind, these healing practices are often used alongside traditional Western medicine.

This includes: the use of crystals/gemstones, colour, sound, essential oils (aromatherapy), food, herbalism and other traditional practices such as acupuncture, Shiatsu and reflexology.

Yoga is a branch of Indian philosophy which is concerned with the union of the individual with the universal consciousness. The chakras are an integral part of Dru Yoga practice. Each posture and Energy Block Release sequence helps to free up prana/energy from particular chakras. Breathing techniques, meditation and relaxation all include working with the chakras.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close